Harlem's Little Blackbird
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 40

Harlem's Little Blackbird

From Caldecott Honor winner Christian Robinson and acclaimed author Renee Watson, comes the inspiring true story of Florence Mills. Born to parents who were both former slaves, Florence Mills knew at an early age that she loved to sing, and that her sweet, bird-like voice, resonated with those who heard her. Performing catapulted her all the way to the stages of 1920s Broadway where she inspired everyone from songwriters to playwrights. Yet with all her success, she knew firsthand how prejudice shaped her world and the world of those around her. As a result, Florence chose to support and promote works by her fellow black performers while heralding a call for their civil rights. Featuring a moving text and colorful illustrations, Harlem's Little Blackbird is a timeless story about justice, equality, and the importance of following one's heart and dreams. A CARTER G. WOODSON ELEMENTARY HONOR BOOK (awarded by the National Council for the Social Studies, 2013) From the Hardcover edition.

The Random House Book of Poetry for Children
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 248

The Random House Book of Poetry for Children

More than 550 poems by American, English, and anonymous authors.

Spy the Spies
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 10

Spy the Spies

When Mater is mistaken for a spy, he helps his new friends, Finn McMissile and Holly Shiftwell.

The Reader
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 464

The Reader

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2017-08
  • -
  • Publisher: Penguin

"Set in a world where reading is forbidden, Sefia makes use of a mysterious object to track down who kidnapped her aunt Nin and what really happened the night her father was murdered"--

The Random House Book of Fairy Tales
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 208

The Random House Book of Fairy Tales

A lush treasury of 19 fairy tales that generations of children have grown up on, lushly illustrated by Diane Goode.

Alex and Eliza
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 358

Alex and Eliza

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2017
  • -
  • Publisher: Penguin

A love story involving Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler.

A Sick Day for Amos McGee
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 32

A Sick Day for Amos McGee

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2010-05-25
  • -
  • Publisher: Macmillan

Zookeeper Amos McGee always makes time to visit his friends who live at the zoo until the day he stays home because he is sick.

Six Feet Over It
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 368

Six Feet Over It

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2016-01
  • -
  • Publisher: Ember

This unforgettable new voice in contemporary YA is perfect for fans of John Green, Libba Bray, and Jennifer Niven. "Like nothing you've read before." --Bustle.com "Darkly funny and deeply moving. An original, memorable voice." --Jennifer L. Holm, New York Times bestselling author "A wildly funny coming-of-age story about life, love, death, and everything in between." --Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs "Terrific. Longo had me at 'graveyard' and then dug me in deeper with wit, dark humor, and splendid characters." --Lisa Brown, New York Times bestselling author No one is more surprised than Leigh when her father buys a graveyard. Less shocking is the fact that he's too lazy to loo...

Brought to You by the Letter B
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 32

Brought to You by the Letter B

Sesame Street favorite, lovable Grover introduces letter "B" in a colorful book to help young children learn the alphabet. Color illustrations throughout.

Girls Who Code
  • Language: en
  • Pages: 176

Girls Who Code

  • Type: Book
  • -
  • Published: 2017-08-22
  • -
  • Publisher: Penguin

Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, from the leader of the movement championed by Sheryl Sandberg, Malala Yousafzai, and John Legend. Since 2012, the organization Girls Who Code has taught computing skills to and inspired over 40,000 girls across America. Now its founder, Reshma Saujani, wants to inspire you to be a girl who codes! Bursting with dynamic artwork, down-to-earth explanations of coding principles, and real-life stories of girls and women working at places like Pixar and NASA, this graphically animated book shows what a huge role computer science plays in our lives and how much fun it can be. No matter your interest—sports, the arts, baking, student government, social justice—coding can help you do what you love and make your dreams come true. Whether you’re a girl who’s never coded before, a girl who codes, or a parent raising one, this entertaining book, printed in bold two-color and featuring art on every page, will have you itching to create your own apps, games, and robots to make the world a better place.